top of page
Writer's pictureBrooke

My new favorite soup (Creamy chicken almond): Free of autoimmune triggers

Updated: Mar 9, 2021

GLUTEN FREE, DAIRY FREE, LACTOSE FREE, SOY FREE, LEGUME FREE, NIGHTSHADE FREE, CANOLA FREE, HIGH GRADE OIL, MSG FREE, NITRATE FREE, & PRESERVATIVE FREE


Since going gluten free, I haven't eaten many soups. It has been one of the things I miss the most especially with the weather turning cold! I have tried gluten free soups at different places, but I have to be very careful about the oils I eat as well. I usually ended up sick :( Canola oil and low grade oils such as olive oil or soybean oil flare up my autoimmune conditions especially my Crohn's. If you have any GI issues, I highly suggest staying away from these oils. They will tear up your stomach! And they're not good for your joint and muscle pain for other chronic disorders either. So it was clear that if I was going to have soup, I was going to have to make it myself. I have been intimidated about making soup for some reason, but this was delicious on the first try and pretty simple! You can even tweak the recipe and make it into a nice chicken tortilla! I'll show you how in the recipe. This is by far the best soup i've ever had and I think one of the key factors is the high grade oil I used (coconut oil) and the heavy coconut cream I found at Thrive Market. This stuff is magical! I hope you enjoy! If you have any questions or comments please leave them down below! I'd love to know how the soup turns out for you!


May you be well :)


Brooke


“There is no right reaction. There is only your reaction.”―Jack Canfield, Chicken Soup for the Soul


 

Time to Cook: About 1 Hour (30 minutes to boil chicken)

Prep Time: 15 minutes to prep veggies

Serving Size: 4 People (4 Bowls if making a meal out of it) or 6 Cups

 

INGREDIENTS:


- 4 Tablespoons coconut oil (or high grade oil of your choice). (Find it here).

- 2 Teaspoons Garlic (Original recipe called for an onion. I avoid onions so I substituted garlic. Make sure the garlic is fresh or only in water and does not have preservatives. I like to use spice world organic if I can't use fresh organic. Click here).


- 1 cup chopped organic carrots (or celery if you prefer)

- 2 tablespoons almond flour (Find it here).

- 1/4 tablespoon coconut flour (the original recipe that was not gluten free called for four tablespoons flour. I usually split the flour between coconut and almond flour. Almond flour is a 1:1 ratio substitution, but coconut flour is drier so it's a 1/4 substitution. If you need to use all coconut flour due to nut intolerance, then try 1 tablespoon coconut flour). (Find it here).

- 5 cups of low sodium Swanson Chicken Broth or Organic Chicken Broth from a local market (make sure the broth is MSG free and preservative free, that's why I recommended Swanson).

- 1 teaspoon thyme (Or sage if someone in your family has an allergy to thyme like I do. However, thyme is great for the cold weather. Will help with colds too). (Find it here or the sage here).

- 1 teaspoon rosemary Great for the cold weather. Will help with colds too. (Find it here).

- Salt to taste

- 4 cups of shredded chicken breasts (Find a chicken that is organic, preservative free, vegetarian fed, and gluten free. My favorite is Springer Mountain Chicken and Simple Truth).

- 1/2 cup chopped mushrooms chopped (I used organic baby bella)

- 1 cup toasted almonds (Non GMO preferred)

- 1 can heavy coconut cream (Around 13.5 ounces. This is the first time I have tried this heavy coconut cream and it won't be the last. Can't wait to try for pies and baking. It is absolutely delicious! I found this at Thrive Market, but you can also get it here).


Love these almonds from Earth Fare

***Note: If you'd rather have a tortilla chicken soup then skip the heavy coconut cream and almonds. Instead get some coconut flour tortilla chips and shredded diary free cheddar cheese. My favorite tortilla chips are by Siete. Get them here.


 

DIRECTIONS:


Seriously, my favorite soup ever!

To make the process easier and faster, I already boiled my chicken breasts in a pot of water on the stove over medium heat for 30 minutes.


I started by melting the coconut oil in a pot on the stove over medium heat. I added in the carrots (or celery if you choose) and garlic and let them cook until soft. That was about 5 minutes.


Then, I added the coconut and almond flour and mixed them with the veggies. I mixed over medium heat for a few minutes until thick.


I added the chicken broth, brought to a boil so it could thicken, and then reduced to low heat. I added thyme, rosemary, and salt to taste. I let simmer for 10-15 minutes.


While it was simmering I took this time to shred the chicken breasts that I had refrigerated from earlier. I also put the almonds in the oven to toast at 350˚ for 5 minutes. Make sure to watch so they don't burn!


Then, I added the shredded chicken, mushrooms, and toasted almonds. I brought to a boil and then reduced to medium heat.


***NOTE: This is a great soup. You can stop here and NOT add the almonds. Add your tortillas and shredded cheddar when serving and you'll have an amazing tortilla soup. I tasted the soup at this stage and it tasted incredible. So this is a great option. If you want the creamy almond then go ahead and add the almonds and go on to the final step! :)


While the soup is at medium heat add the whole can of heavy coconut cream. Mix well and then reduce to a simmer. Allow to simmer for 5-10 minutes so it melds. Then just heat it back up when you're ready to serve. This soup saves really well for left overs! You can save some almonds and thyme to sprinkle on top when serving as well. Hope you enjoy!





Printable Recipe

1 Comment


Anna Atchison
Jun 18, 2020

This soup looks absolutely delicious!! I had no idea that certain oils were so bad for stomachs/GI!! That honestly makes so much sense now! Definitely want to try this when the weather cools down (or now in the summer because I am ALWAYS pretending it's Fall haha).

Like
bottom of page