top of page
Writer's pictureBrooke

Butternut squash spaghetti noodles

Updated: Apr 21, 2021

FREE FROM FOOD: GLUTEN FREE, GRAIN FREE, DAIRY FREE OPTION, LACTOSE FREE, SOY FREE, LEGUME FREE, NIGHTSHADE FREE, CANOLA FREE, HIGH GRADE OIL, ONION FREE, MSG FREE, NITRATE FREE, & PRESERVATIVE FREE


Such a delicious and easy meal!

Time: 30 minutes

Serves: 3-4 people


This is the perfect dish for fall! Butternut squash is absolutely delicious and the beautiful orange color makes this a perfect fall dish. It's a really easy and light dinner so this is perfect for spring and summer as well. The color and the squash just reminds me of fall. My favorite season! So yummy and a great way to replace carbs. My favorite meal is pasta, but I haven't even missed pasta since going to veggie noodles. They're much more feeling, you don't get a sugar crash, and you feel much better after eating this type of noodles. I have many more veggie noodle recipes and I hope to share them with you soon! This is also a great low carb alternative to pasta! Meals like this that avoid autoimmune and chronic illness triggers will help you feel better, but you also get the low carb bonus! Hope you enjoy. Share if you have any favorite veggie noodle dishes!


May you be well :)


~ Brooke


"Life starts all over again when it gets crisp in the fall." - F Scott Fitzgerald

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound ground turkey or shredded boiled chicken

  • 1 pound butternut squash noodles (I get mine as noodles at a local grocery store. It saves a lot of time if you can find them already prepared and don't have to make the noodles).

  • 3 Tbsp coconut oil (It's very important to use a high grade oil. I like unrefined coconut oil. Avocado oil is another good option. However, I think the secret to good cooking is coconut oil. It makes everything more tender, sweet, and savory. Get it here).

  • Salt to taste

  • Cardamom (if you like to use pepper to season the meat, then use cardamom as a substitute. It's great for digestion! Get it here).

  • 1/4 tsp Minced Garlic (Make sure the garlic is fresh or only in water and does not have preservatives. I like to use spice world organic if I can't use fresh organic. Click here).

  • 1 tsp Organic Minced Ginger (I like the Ginger People brand. It's natural and without fillers. Click here)

  • 1 Tbsp Coconut Sugar (Coconut sugar has a lower glycemic index. Get it here).  

  • 1-1.5 Cup Coconut Creamer (depending on how much sauce you want)

  • 1/2 Cup Shredded White Sharp Cheddar

    • ***NOTE: cheddar, parmesan, and provolone cheeses are aged so the lactose is lost during the aging process. There is none to almost none when the process is completed. Check out my post about it here. I am able to eat these cheeses on my lactose free diet. However, you can always sub for a dairy free alternative cheese. Just be sure to read the ingredients. There are a lot of fillers in cheese alternatives.

  • 1/4 Cup Parmesan Shredded

  • NOTE: You can add mushrooms, spinach, or asparagus. Any veggie would be great added. I cook my veggie as a side (asparagus pictured). Post coming soon about how I make my veggie sides. This is also great with my banana nut bread.




Instructions:

  • Melt 1 Tbsp coconut oil. Cook ground turkey until done. Salt. About 7 min.

  • Add minced garlic. Sauté for a minute. (Add shredded chicken here if opting for chicken. Boil ahead of time. Takes about 30 minutes to boil the chicken breast). If you want to add a veggie like mushrooms or asparagus I would go ahead and sauté it will the garlic.

  • Melt 2 Tbsp of coconut oil. Add butternut squash noodles, coconut sugars, ginger, and some salt. Cook for 7-8 minutes over low heat. Continue to stir so the noodles don't burn.

  • Add 1 or 1.5 cups creamer and allow to reduce over medium heat. Depending on your noodles you may want more of the coconut creamer or you may want more sauce. About 3-5 minutes.

  • Add cheeses on simmer. You use add dairy free cheese options. Just be careful about fillers in diary free cheese. This dish would be great without the cheese as well. However, the cheeses I choose in my recipes are aged and all or almost all of lactose is removed in the process of making them. I don't have a problem with them on my diary free diet. Salt to taste. Garnish with Parmesan. Enjoy :)


Add veggies to the dish or on the side!





Printable Recipe

Bình luận


bottom of page