top of page
Writer's pictureBrooke

Beef Steak Stir Fry and Rosemary Rice

Updated: Mar 24, 2021

FREE FROM FOOD: GLUTEN FREE, DAIRY FREE OPTION, LACTOSE FREE, SOY FREE, LEGUME FREE, NIGHTSHADE FREE, CANOLA FREE, HIGH GRADE OIL, ONION FREE, MSG FREE, NITRATE FREE, & PRESERVATIVE FREE


My favorite meal! I have missed eating out at Asian resturants.

Time: 35- 45 minutes

Serves: 3-4 people


This is my favorite dinner! I like to make the rice ahead of time so that it only takes about 25 minutes to make. Delicious! Hope you enjoy.


May you be well :)


~ Brooke


Pearls don't lie on the seashore. If you want one you must dive for it." - Chinese Proverb

Ingredients:

  • 3 Ribeye Steaks (Grass fed is better for you, but can be harder on the stomach).

    • ***NOTE: Use whichever you can tolerate. I like to buy organic, gluten free, and preservative free. The only one that I have found I can tolerate is Simple Truth by Kroger. When the package says the preservative is "rosemary extract" this can mean it has MSG or preservatives that cannot be tolerated. It depends on the brand. For example, I love the simple mills brand and there rosemary extract is really rosemary extract and I do great with their food. Unfortunately, I think this is not the case with a lot of meat and I have to avoid the brands that use "rosemary extract").

  • OR 2 pounds shrimp. If you would rather have a seafood stir fry this is a great option. There's only one frozen shrimp I have found that I can eat that doesn't have preservative (find it here). Usually there's left overs and these make great sandwiches! They're great open face on a paleo waffle with some white cheddar cheese melted on top (find it here).

    • If using shrimp, thaw shrimp and follow the same directions as for the steak stir fry. I like to use asparagus with the shrimp instead of broccoli.

  • 3 Tbsp Coconut Oil: It's very important to use a high grade oil. I like unrefined coconut oil. Avocado oil is another good option. However, I think the secret to good cooking is coconut oil. It makes everything more tender and more sweet and savory.(find it here).

  • 2 Tbsp Coconut Sugar: Coconut sugar has a lower glycemic index (find it here).

  • Salt to taste

  • Cardamom: if you like to use pepper to season the meat, then use cardamom as a substitute. It's great for digestion! (find it here)

  • 1/4 tsp minced garlic (Make sure the garlic is fresh or only in water and does not have preservatives. I like to use spice world organic if I can't use fresh organic. Click here).

  • 3-4 Cups Organic Broccoli (I usually use two heads of broccoli and don't worry about measuring it out).

  • 1/2 cup coconut aminos: this replaces soy sauce (Find it here).

  • 1/4 cup water (if you want more sauce add more water)

  • 2 Tbsp Agave: lower glycemic index (Find it here).

    • OR 2 Tbsp Coconut Nectar: Even lower glycemic index (find it here).

  • 1 tsp Organic Minced Ginger: I love the ginger people brand. No preservatives and very fresh! (find it here).

  • 2 Tbsp Arrowroot Powder optional

    • ***NOTE: You can toss the meat in 1 Tbsp of arrowroot powder and then put 1 Tbsp in the sauce as well. I don't think the recipe needs this step and it's just more work. However, I wanted to include it if you wanted to make it crispy (find it here).


Ingredients for Rice:

  • 2 cups Organic Jasmine Rice: See the how a prepare the rice here. I use the rosemary parmesan rice preparation with the stir fry. I like to use 2 cup of rice so I have another serving left over for another meal. If you just want enough for this one meal then prepare 1 cup of rice (find it here).

  • 2 Tbsp Coconut Oil (find it here).

  • 3 cups water

  • 2 tsps Organic Rosemary (find it here).

  • 1/4 cup shredded parmesan

    • ***NOTE: cheddar, parmesan, and provolone cheeses are aged so the lactose is lost during the aging process. Theirs is none to almost none when the process is completed. Check out my post about it here. I am able to eat these cheeses on my lactose free diet. However, you can always sub for a dairy free alternative cheese. Just be sure to read the ingredients. There are a lot of fillers in cheese alternatives.

Simple Truth Beef Steak

Simple Truth Beef Steak



Instructions:

  • Start the rice and follow the directions. Follow my rosemary parmesan rice directions here.

  • Cut the meat into bit size pieces. Make sure they are around the same size so they cook evenly. Cut broccoli into small pieces



  • Melt 2 Tbsp of coconut oil in a pan. Add 1/4 tsp minced garlic. Add meat to pan. Sprinkle with salt, cardamom (optional), and 1 Tbsp of coconut sugar. Sear each side of the meat. Only 1-2 minutes. Just sear so the meat is not overcooked. Put meat on a plate and set to the side.

Sear on each side.


Set meat aside.

  • Next, add the chopped broccoli to the pan. Salt. Sear for 1 minute. Just until it turns a brighter green. Do not cook long! It will cook with the sauce.

Saute Brocoli
  • Add the ingredients for the sauce. Add 1/2 cup coconut aminos, 1/4 cup water, 1 Tbsp coconut sugar, 2 Tbsp agave, 1 tsp minced ginger, and sprinkle salt. Stir. Allow to reduce on medium heat for 5 minutes. Stirring occasionally.


  • Add meat back and cook for 1-2 minutes depending on how much you want your meat cooked.


  • Put rice in the bowl. Top with some shredded parmesan. Top with the broccoli and beef stir-fry. I like to top it off with some of the extra sauce from the pan.


I top them in a bowl together, but wanted you see them separate.


Printable Recipe

コメント


bottom of page