top of page
Writer's pictureBrooke

Coconut Pineapple Rum cake

Updated: Apr 22, 2021

GLUTEN FREE, LACTOSE FREE OPTION, LEGUME FREE, SOY FREE, NIGHTSHADE FREE, CANOLA FREE, HIGH GRADE OIL, ONION FREE, MSG FREE, NITRATE FREE, & PRESERVATIVE FREE




Mother's Day 2020. My mom and I with our dogs, Rio Blue and Bella.

 

I made this delicious cake recently for my mom for Mother's Day. It came out even better than expected! I pulled inspiration from the Piña Colada cake from Tommy Bahama. Some of my favorite memories with my mom were spent at the beach in Long Boat Key, Florida. We would always go to the Tommy Bahama restaurant on our trips. I think everyone being quarantined for COVID-19 has stirred up longings for the beach. So I thought I would bring a little bit of the beach home. This version is gluten free, grain free, diary free (optional), and includes healthy oils. A healthy, yet divine version for everyone to enjoy and a guilt free dessert for people with autoimmune or chronic disorders. Since this cake is "free from" so many common foods triggers you won't have to worry about paying for eating dessert later.


This cake is pretty easy to make and delicious. About 25 minutes of prep time and about 30 minutes for backing and icing. This is definitely my new go-to for special occasions. Simple and yummy!

 

Ingredients:


CAKE:

- 3 eggs

- 1 Tbsp vanilla extract (Click here for the one I love to use)

-1/3 cup water

-1/2 cup coconut oil (I prefer to use coconut oil to add some sweetness and moisture. Plus,

it's a healthy fat :))

ICING:


 

Ingredient Options: This cake is grain free, gluten free, and can be diary free as well.


I use the simple mills cake mix so the cake is grain free. Most grocery stores are carrying this brand now. I love Simple Mills mixes and crackers!






You can substitute the cream cheese for a diary free cream cheese. Always make sure to read the ingredient label! There are a lot of diary free options with a bunch of filler. You'll be surprised what they put in some of these diary free options. I finally found a company I love that offers diary free alternatives. Their cream cheese is made from almonds and is delicious! I also love their sour cream, which I use for taco and soup recipes.


The original recipe called for a whipped mousse frosting with mousse powder, which is not something I could eat. Instead, I added iconic protein powder to my cream cheese frosting recipe. I absolutely love the iconic protein powder. They are wonderful in smoothies! Hoping to write a post with my smoothie recipes soon (click here)! It's delicious and doesn't taste chalky like a lot of other protein powders. Plus, it doesn't have unhealthy fillers. However, the icing will still taste great if you don't have this protein powder. If you love to make smoothies, then I would definitely suggest this brand!



I love this organic vanilla. I put it in my hot cocoa reishi mushroom blend. Click here to see my hot drink post. Delicious! I also use it for smoothies. Click here to see my smoothie post.

Really important to find one that does not have preservatives. A lot of the cheap coconut flakes will have preservatives and fillers. I love this brand because it's also unsulfured. I have a problem with sulfites and preservatives in foods.

I think it's important to pay a little extra for organic whenever possible.


 

Instructions:

  • Toast the coconut flakes in the oven at 350 for a couple of minutes until golden.

  • Follow the directions on the back of the Simple Mills box and make the cake.

  • Allow cake to cool and cut it in half.

  • While cake is baking make the icing.

  • Beat cream cheese and coconut oil together in large bowl for a couple of minutes on medium to high (you can use butter instead of coconut oil if you can eat butter) . Beat until smooth.

  • Add the coconut creamer, confectioners' sugar, iconic protein powder, vanilla extract, and a sprinkle of salt. Beat two-three minutes until smooth and mixed well.

  • Spread 1 tbsp of rum on the first layer. Spread the drained crushed pineapple and then add a layer of the frosting.

  • Put the next layer on top and use the other tbsp of rum on top. Use the rest of the icing to cover the cake.

  • Top with the toasted coconut flakes and enjoy! :)


May you be well :)


~Brooke


"She opens her mouth with wisdom, and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue." Proverbs 31:26 (Special thanks to my beautiful mom for all the guidance and love throughout the years).


Printable Recipe

Comments


bottom of page