top of page
Writer's pictureBrooke

Not all Chapsticks are Created Equal

Updated: Apr 5, 2021



 

This has been a very warm and cold winter in East Tennessee. The weather is always unpredictable here, but this winter has been no exception. We've had some very warm days this winter and then the next day it will snow. With all the change in weather, I developed extremely chapped lips. I constantly put on my organic EOS chapstick and just chocked it up to poor absorption with my latest Crohn's flare and the weather. However, after a month of severely chapped lips I started to worry something else was going on. It became so painful with my skin constantly peeling off my lips that I went to Urgent Care. I felt ridiculous going to be seen for something that seemed so trivial, but I was worried about infection. Having chapped lips is not something we think about becoming so out of hand. Thankfully, there was no infection, but the chapping was so severe that the provider warned me that my lips could easily become infected. The provider told me to stay away from products with carnauba wax. That's when I learned that like any other product we ingest or put on our skin, not all chapsticks are created equal. I began to do research and finally was able to get my lips back to normal.


I wanted to share with you some of the products that helped heal my lips and thus helped stop an infection from forming. I know with poor absorption from autoimmune disorders that chapped lips becomes more of a concern and the thought of infection is very scary. To my surprise, buying products labeled organic and natural is not enough to help prevent this problem. What's important is what organic and natural ingredients they use. I have learned that when buying chapstick you want to look for a product that uses beeswax instead of carnauba. Beeswax has so many healing properties and good benefits. I've been looking into natural beeswax candles because the beeswax actually cleanses the air, but I never thought about looking for a beeswax chapstick. This was a life saver. And getting a natural product helped as well. There are so many fillers they can put in chapsticks just like with all products. Reading the ingredients every time we buy a product is not only important when buying food, but it's also important for the products we use on our skin. Here are some of the products I found through lots of trial and error. I hope they will help you and prevent this painful experience from happening to you. If you have other brands you love or have helped you, then please comment down below! I'd love to hear from you.


May you be well :)


~ Brooke


"Skin care is like dieting. You have to invest time and effort. There is no instant miracle cure." - Karen Grant

1) Cocokind Macabeet Chapstick. Naturally colored with beet, this product has become my favorite. I found this product on Thrive Market. I don't usually wear lipstick so I love to have a tinted chapstick. As you may have seen in my makeup tutorial, I was struggling to find a natural product for my lips, but I'm absolutely in love with this product! You can also purchase from amazon here.



2) Sky Organics Chapsticks. These are not tinted, but smell great and feel great too! I love all the natural products that make these organic chapsticks. They give your lips great moisture and a beautiful shine! Comes in a variety pack of scents: Tahitian vanilla, cherry bomb, strawberry bliss, tangy citrus, eucalyptus mint, and tropical coconut. I'm in love with these!


 


3) Sky Organics Lip Balms. These are colored with mica powder and have really pretty colors. I usually avoid micas in body products, but this mica is cosmetic grade since it's in a face product. I found these on amazon. Feels great on the lips too! (Find it here).



 


4) Vaseline. When all else fails find a product that has one simple ingredient! Simple is usually best as with food. I found mine at CVS because I had to have something right away for my painful lips. However, I have linked Vaseline on Amazon (find it here).






コメント


bottom of page