top of page
Writer's pictureBrooke

Diy natural FaceWash (Great feeling skin + Save Money)



 

I have been making my own face wash for years. It saves SO much money and has saved my face too! It's almost impossible to find face care and body products without toxic fillers. The products with worst fillers for me have always been face wash and face lotion. I went through years of allergic bumps all over my face due to expensive and "natural" products. It's so important to read ingredients not only in all your food, but also any product you put on your skin. You'll be shocked what ingredients are in a lot of your products. I even went to several dermatologists who were puzzled by the reaction on my face. The products that were supposed to clear up my face only made it worse. They were filled with fillers and fillers that were allergens for me. I am allergic to polysorbate 80 (or any polysorbate with a number), PEG, preservatives, and gluten. It was essential to remove toxic fillers not only from my diet, medicine, and body products to regain my healthy skin again. I have cut out all fillers and preservatives because it's just too hard to identify all the allergens. Most of them are toxic and unhealthy any way.


Besides regaining my healthy skin, I also save a lot of time and money by making my own face wash. I use a lot of the same ingredients for my face products, body products, and bath products. So the cost for my products is really low and I don't have waste. Best of all, I don't have allergic reaction bumps on my face and body. I was constantly itchy and the allergic bumps were painful. I was so glad to have regain healthy skin!


May you be well :)


~ Brooke


Beauty is being comfortable and confident in your own skin." -Iman


DIY Foaming Face Wash

Ingredients:


1) Witch Hazel. This is great for your pores and acne! Witch hazel has helped me so much even when I was having allergic reactions on my face. I've used it since college, but I've learned that not all witch hazels are created equal! It's really important to find a good one without alcohol and fillers! The on I use is Quinn's (Find it here). I love Jade Bloom's Witch Hazel, but I usually save it and use it as a toner spray and for cuts or wounds. It's 100% witch hazel so it's the top quality. It would be great to use in this recipe! It's a little more expensive, but the quality is wonderful! Find it here. Just make sure the witch Hazel you use is gluten free and high quality since you're using it on your face!



 


2) Dr. Bronner's Soap. I love the Dr. Bronner's products! The baby unscented is very gentle on the face and that's the one I use for this recipe (find it here). There's other scents such as lavender, but I like to use the most gentle for the face wash ( find it here).


 

 


3) Essential Oils. The best part about this recipe is that you can tailor it to your skin and even to the time of year! I use a lot of essential oils that are good for acne and oily skin. In the winter through I will add some oils that are good for mature skin types because they are more hydrating. (Find the essential oils here). I like to use this guide for what essential oils to use based on skin type. It's really helpful!



4) BPA free foam dispenser (Find it here). The one I use is a 10 oz bottle. These foaming bottles really make your wash last a long time! You can use the extra for other products like hand soap. I love my truce hand soap and it comes in a foaming bottle which makes it last so much longer! If you're interested in the truce hand soap you can find it here. I'll be posting a full post list of bath and body products soon and will mention more about it there.




DIY foaming face wash

RECIPE:


1 foam bottle (find it here)


Equal parts Dr. Bronner's soap (find it here) and witch hazel (find it here). Usually 1/4 cup of each.


20-30 drops essential oil (find it here). The mixture is 4 ounces and you can use up to 12 drops an ounce. That would be up to 48 drops for this mixture. However, I like to use less and make mine milder.


This is my usual mixture:

  • 5 Lavender (find it here)

  • 5 Helichrysum (find it here).

    • The diluted version that is more affordable. Since it is diluted you would need 50 drops, but you could try starting with 25-30 drops (Find it here).

  • 5 Frankincense (find it here).

  • 3 Myrrh (find it here).

  • 5 Clary sage (find it here).

  • 3 Tea tree (find it here).

  • 3 Rosemary (find it here).

  • 2 lemon (find it here).


I fill a quarter of my foam bottle with Dr. Bronner's soap and the other quarter with witch hazel. Usually 1/4 cup each. Then I add 15-20 drops of essential oils from Jade Bloom. I add essential oils based on my skin's need at the time. I have oily skin so I usually use essential oils that are good for acne and oily skin. In the winter I will add some more essential oils that are good for hydrating. I like to use this guide for what essential oils to use based on skin type (look at the guide here).


RECIPE:



Print out the recipe to make DIY easy! Download the pdf or print out the photo below :)



Printable Recipe

0 comments

Comments


bottom of page