top of page
Writer's pictureBrooke

Intro to Diet Section

Updated: Apr 22, 2021

Diet is so important to autoimmune disorders.  Actually it is crucial and when followed strictly it can be a remedy and for some even a cure.  Changing my diet has changed my life.  It became my new medicine. And I believe it saved my life.  Treat your food as if it was a prescription.  Pretty soon you will see results and hopefully your medicine list will decrease as well or you will see an increase in your quality of life like I did.


I began a gluten free lifestyle a year and a half ago and I never looked back.  I think that this choice was one of the main changes in my diet that saved my life.  If not for this food, then I think I would have ended up on a feeding tube and in critical care.  When I stopped my unsuccessful biologic treatment, I was told it was only a matter of time before I would end up in the ICU in critical care.  Fortunately, I had some amazing friends that shared a diet very similar to the Autoimmune Paleo Diet.  This was the next step in my journey to change my diet.  Little by little I have regained more and more quality of life. And diet has helped more than a lot of medications. That is why I say that diet will become your new prescription.  If you take it as seriously as prescribed medication and spend the money on it that you would a prescription, then I believe you will see results!  I believe you will find some relief and start feeling better.  No matter how small the change at first, time will help improve the effects of this diet.  I was told by my friend that I would feel like I had been cured in two years on this diet.  It has been 6 months and a world of difference from my new diet.  The word “cure” that my friend spoke about still bounces around in my head.  The idea of a “cure” or something close to a cure was almost unimaginable to me.  Slowly the word “cure” is becoming more imaginable and much more of a possibility to me.  I hope it will for you too!


I will be describing and following a tweaked Autoimmune Paleo Diet for you to follow and change as you feel necessary.  I will also be discussing some tricks I have learned along the way.  I say “tricks” because they truly have been magical to me!  Please, please, please listen to your body.  Do not push something on yourself that is not for you or that makes your body revolt.  This is key to curing yourself: listening to yourself,  respecting yourself, and loving yourself.  This community and I are here to help!  Please embrace the community and let us support you! Always share anything that troubles you with the diet or any allergies and I will be happy to help you tweak things as best I can!


May you be well :)


~Brooke

– You are what you eat…

A Good Mantra

Comments


bottom of page