top of page
Writer's pictureBrooke

Intro to the Blog

Updated: Apr 22, 2021

I am nervously writing this first entry.  In fact, this goes against everything I have been trying to do since my life rapidly changed forever.  Since being diagnosed with my first “aggressive” and “severe” autoimmune disorder, I have tried to hide my disorder from the public, only sharing my disorder with family members, extremely close friends, and others who told me about their autoimmune condition first.  From the outside I look like a “normal” and “healthy” woman in her mid-twenties.  This is what I call the autoimmune oxymoron (but that is for another post).  However, over the course of the last year I have had several people encourage me to start a blog (you know who you are and thank you :) ).  Since being diagnosed, this has become one of my worst fears and if you’re reading this i’m sure in some way you can relate.  I have countless hours of research on topics I never dreamed I would be researching and I hope that I can share what I have learned to help better the lives of others.  I think we all yearn to give back to our community and help others who are struggling with these disorders which little is known about.  To me, this is one of the new frontiers of medicine with a lot of research left to do.  I hope this will be my way to help others and to pass on the knowledge that people in the autoimmune community have so kindly given to me.  I am hoping to create a safe space to build a sense of community among those with autoimmune disorders or those whose family or friends have been touched by these disorders.  I feel as if I am back in the classroom teaching, but my only rule is please post only positive and respectful comments!  My dream is for this to be a place where all our frustrations, fears, triumphs, and concerns can be shared.  The title of the blog is the autoimmune digest because I will be discussing diet extensively.  I am also hoping that DIY projects, essential oil recipes, lifestyle, and autoimmune quirks posts on this blog will provide some comfort or help to others out there.  Please, please, please share your story and experiences on this blog.  I hope we can create a beautiful community together! And now a sigh of relief for I have written my first post….phewww. lol.


May you be well :)


~Brooke

She is clothed in strength and dignity: she can laugh at the days to come.  -Proverbs 31:25

The puppy in the picture is my Border Collie and her name is Rio Blue. Love of my life and best side kick!

Comments


bottom of page