top of page
Writer's pictureBrooke

Favorite Shark Movie List

Updated: Jan 20, 2022



Since it is the last day of summer I wanted to release a list of my favorite shark films. This list is perfect for those missing Shark Week and those not ready for summer to end. This is also a great list for Fall as we start to pull out spooky movies in preparation for Halloween. I have to admit I am a secret shark movie junkie. I don't tend to watch many horror movies, but rather watch a lot of movies in the thriller and suspense genre. However, I do love survival movies and especially a good shark movie! And they are really hard to find! I was super bummed that there wasn't a shark movie for Shark Week this year. So I decided it was a good time to re-visit my list. I really enjoyed Discovery's shark movie last year and it will definitely be on the list! I love to escape into a survival movie. You forget everything going on in real life and the escapism is perfect for a bad flare day. Hope this list extends summer for you and provides you some escape! If you have a favorite not listed, then please share! I am always looking for good shark movies! If you're looking for more movies for the Halloween season, then check out my Hitchcock list (check it out here) and my fall movie list. The fall movie list was divided up into nostalgic fall films, favorite thriller & suspense movies, favorite final girl movies, and favorite classic thriller & suspense movies (check it out here). Hoping to release a creature feature movie list soon for the fall season. Hope you enjoy!


May you be well :)


~Brooke

"Live in the sunshine, swim the sea, drink the wild air." -Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

I absolutely love the beach. Sharing some beach photos for fun. Even though fall is my favorite season, I don't want summer to end! It's always bittersweet for me to transition from summer to fall.


Combing for Shark Teeth at Venice Beach





 

o Jaws (1975)


A classic. Probably everyone's favorite shark movie. It's hard to beat. The suspense and twists as well as the music are epic. The rest of the Jaws franchise are good, but nothing like the original.




o The Reef (2010)


This is one of my favorites. It keeps you on the edge of your seat until the end. Really great graphics as well. Makes you feel like you are there.




o Dark Tide (2010)


Love Halle Berry and she is just as fierce in this movie. She takes a father and son on a shark dive who are looking for an adrenaline rush.




o 47 Meters Down (2017)


I have to admit that I never thought I'd see Mandy Moore in a shark movie. She said she wanted to do something different after her divorce and she does a great job! Absolutely love her in this movie. This is by far the best shark movie to come out in a long time! It keeps you guessing and jumping. And the ending is wild!



o Capsized: Blood in the Water (2019)


I was so excited to learn that Discover made a movie for Shark Week and this did not disappoint. I was so disappointed there wasn't a Shark Week movie this year :( This was based on a true story. The documentary that was done by Discover with the survivor(s) was great as well. Not going to give that away. lol. You can find the documentary on Youtube and it's definitely worth checking out. It's an amazing survivor story.



o The Shallows (2016)


A medical student gets stranded on a rock in the ocean that's close to shore after a shark attack. An epic story of using intelligence and cunning to fight for survival.



o Deep Blue Sea (1999)


More of a scientific twist on the shark movie franchise. Really a great new take on these movies. As a science major, it's always fun to watch these types of movies and suspend scientific reality. A research team is using shark stem cells to find a cure for Alzheimer's. Things start to go wrong when the sharks get too intelligent.



o 47 Meters Down: Uncaged (2019)


While this was not as good as the first one, it was still a great shark movie. Four girls go cave diving in an underwater Mayan city in Mexico. The ghost sharks in the movie were a new take and this has to be the most I've ever jumped in a shark movie. There was a lot of hate on this movie. It's supposed to be an escape so not all of the diving science is going to accurate. If you go in knowing this, then it's a fun ride. The sharks were not as realistic as the first movie, but there were many more jump scares. There was also a lot of hate about the acting. This was the first big movie for these young actresses and I think they did a great job. It was really fun to see Sylvester Stallone's and Jamie Foxx's daughters in this movie.



o Soul Surfer (2011)


This is a different type of shark movie. It's an inspirational story and was a really amazing film. Based on a true story. You can't help, but feel inspired after watching this movie. I love how the surfer turns her disability into a positive. We need more films with disability featured and this outlook on disability. As an autoimmune and chronic illness blogger, I feel we can all learn something from her outlook.





0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page